New laptop from Very-PC Computers

I managed to utterly destroy my laptop in a fit of solar flares and bad luck. The battery had died, so I bought a new one and it wouldn’t charge properly – result being that the constant sudden power-downs killed the hard drive. While trying to find the corrupted Windows DLLs, I then discovered the DVD drive was dying too, and during an attempt to open and close the DVD drive, I then accidentally knocked a cup of tea over the keyboard.

Game over.

To replace it, I was torn between buying a waterproof laptop and a green laptop.

Common sense prevailed. I vowed not to drink tea near computers, and ordered a new machine from Very PC who got awards in 2009 for building the most sustainable computers available in the UK and recently moved into BREEAM certified premises in Sheffield.

I managed to keep my last laptop going for over 6 years. If I hadn’t killed it accidentally I probably would have got another year out of it. I’m aiming for the same life span for this next one.

Slight downside: I won’t get it until Monday next week.

